DWI Under 21
Like many states, Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for minors and alcohol; this means drivers younger than 21 years old can’t operate motor vehicles with any amount of alcohol or drugs in their systems.
An officer could write a ticket for DUI, Driving Under the influence which could lead to the following:
– License suspension not to exceed 2 years.
– Up to a $500 fine.
– An Alcohol Education Program at least 12 hours long (see below).
– An additional 180 days of license suspension if you don’t complete the Alcohol Education program.
– Minimum 90 days of license suspension if your judge gives you probation. A minor can expect to have an ignition interlock device as a condition
A minor can also be arrested for DWI, Driving While Intoxicated. In addition to the penalties as shown here, a minor will face a hard wait to get an occupational drivers license. A minor will most likely have an interlock on their vehicle.
Other Alcohol Offenses
Pretty much any involvement you have with alcohol can affect your driving privileges in Texas―including non-driving alcohol offenses. Examples of non-driving alcohol offenses include:
– Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol.
– Lying about your age in an attempt to obtain alcohol.
– Presenting a falsified document stating that you’re 21 years old in an attempt to obtain alcohol.
– Consuming alcohol.
– Possessing alcohol.
– Public intoxication.
Penalties for these offenses are as follows:
First offense: License suspension for 30 days.
Second offense: License suspension for 60 days.
Third offense: License suspension for 180 days.
Based on your situation (and possibly even your age), your judge also might order the Alcohol Education Program and community service.